Skip to main content

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Man sitting crosslegged with laptop.

Active Surveillance Prostate Cancer Virtual Support Group

July 3, 2019 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm EDT

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every month that begins at 8:00 pm on day First of the month, repeating until December 31, 2019

Our next call is on July 3 at 8:00 pm EST. With this forum, we strive to create a sanctuary where you can share your concerns about your process. Actively monitoring your early cancer diagnosis without intervention may often be the wisest alternative – especially since approximately one-third of men following this protocol never need treatment. However, Active Surveillance (AS) presents different challenges and asks different questions. Many following this protocol recognize they are not well served by general prostate cancer support groups.

ASPI (Active Surveillance Patients International), AnCan, home for virtual support groups, and UsTOO, the leading education and support organization for prostate cancer, come together to provide an AS specific virtual support group. Join a peer-led virtual support group online or by phone from wherever you are and chat with other men – and care partners – about issues that face men on AS.

Consider ….

  • the difference between Active Surveillance and ‘watchful waiting’
  • practical issues around frequent biopsies
  • test anxiety
  • when to intervene
  • the role of exercise, diet and stress management

…. and much more. The meetings are led by ASPI Founder, Mark Lichty and the humorous Ken Mason providing his multi-cancer survivorship perspective. Between them, they have more than 20 years of experience living with AS for prostate cancer. We are not doctors, and cannot render medical opinions.

Join us on the 1st Wednesday of every month at 8 pm Eastern, 7 pm Central, 6 pm Mountain, and 5 pm Pacific

 

 

JOINING INSTRUCTIONS
AnCan Barniskis Room

 

Use your preferred method:

 

Please join our meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.

 

Click here or paste the link below into your browser:

 

https://www.gotomeet.me/AnswerCancer

 

You will be using your microphone and speakers (VoIP).

A USB headset is recommended for the best sound quality.

To minimize background noise, please mute your mic when not speaking

You can also dial in using your phone.

  • United States  +1 (646) 749-3129
  • Canada   +1 (647) 497-9373
  • Australia  +61 2 9091 7603

Access Code: 222-583-973

Details

Date:
July 3, 2019
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
EDT
Website:
United States  +1 (646) 749-3129